AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014: New Features
In the past, you’d love to try the new release, but you were concerned about sharing drawings with others, using an older version of the software. This also meant that once you save a drawing in a new version of the software, it was automatically upgraded and you could not easily open it using the older version.
One of the cool features of AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 is that you now have the ability to open Civil 3D 2014 drawings in Civil 3D 2013.
There are a few things to note though. If your drawing has some objects and features that did not exist in the previous version you will not fully be able to open (without performing some edits or modifications on the drawing) and use with the same features or behavior as in the new version. This specifically applies to pressure pipes and objects based on them such as tables, data references, etc. and data shortcuts.
For instance, since now Civil 3D 2014 has the ability to create pressure network tables, so if your drawing has a pressure network table in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 and opened in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013, the pressure network table is displayed as a proxy object. If you make any edits in Civil 3D 2013 to the pressure network that is referenced in the table, this will not update the table.
Bu, if the drawing is edited, saved and closed in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and then reopened in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 will update the table (given that the table is set to update dynamically).
In a similar fashion, any edits made in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 to the alignment, the sample lines, or the pressure network that is being sectioned will not automatically update the pressure network sections. If the drawing is edited, saved and closed in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and then reopened in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, program will identify sections that need to be updated and update them. When this occurs, a task dialog is displayed notifying you that the pressure network sections will be updated in the Event Viewer.
Similarly as with tables, if a drawing is created with a data reference of the pressure network in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 and opened in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013, you will see a broken reference.
The reference pressure network is editable. However, if the drawing is saved in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 with the edits and reopened in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 will synchronize the reference to the source drawing automatically and previous edits made in AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 will be lost. When this occurs, a task dialog is displayed notifying you that the pressure network references in the drawing were modified using a previous version of the software, and that synchronizing the data references will overwrite the pressure network data in the drawing.